BIFFA President Wins Southerns….!!

Flying Fifteen Southern Area Championships incorporating the 60th Hayling Island Sailing Club Bulwark Trophy 24-26 May,

Written by Roger Palmer

Thirty five Flying Fifteens enjoyed great racing in Hayling Bay in a variety of conditions over the Bank Holiday weekend.

On a good line set by HISC Race Officer, Nick Rawlings, the port end appeared favoured and in a light southerly wind Jeremy Davy crewed by Martin Huett starting at speed were soon able to tack on to port to cross the fleet taking advantage of a good leebow on the east going flow. There were random wind shifts which caught boats on the windward legs but on the windward leeward, triangle, windward leeward course it was the team of Jeremy Davy/Martin Huett from Draycott/HISC current British Flying Fifteen President who avoided all pitfalls to lead at the finish ahead of David Tabb/CheweySherrell from Parkstone YC with evergreen Steve Goacher/Phil Evans from Royal Windermere combination in third place. Fourth place was taken by Andy McKee/Rich Jones from Dovestone.

Race two followed on the same course format as were all the subsequent races. Here again a port end start and a favourable tack across the fleet was the best course and the early leaders in the 10-12 kt wind came from this part of the line. After one lap Steve Goacher/ Phil Evans had taken the lead pursued by Greg Wells/Richard Rigg of the Hayling fleet with Jeremy Davy /Simon Huett closing fast.

Sunday dawned bright and sunny with southerly winds of 15-17 kts which provided great sailing conditions with surfing and planing down the waves in fine style. In the first of the two races Steve Goacher/Phil Evans was the winner ahead of Charles Apthorp/Jonathan Clark from HISC. Third was the Jeremy Davy/Martin Huett with Graham& Ben Scroggie, Parkstone in fourth place.

The second race of the day was won by Andy McKee/Rich Jones from Simon Kneller/Dave Lucas in second place. Third was Jeremy Davy/Martin Huett with Steve Goacher Phil Evans in fourth place.

In the evening a dinner was held to celebrate the sixtieth Anniversary of the Bulwark Trophy and Greg Wells the Flying Fifteen International President gave a colourful account of the history of the event noting all the multiple past winners.

After champagne sailing in brilliant sunshine on Sunday, the Monday weather was exceedingly wet with rain pouring down all the day. A northerly wind took competitors out to the Bay in time for the early start at 1030am.

Good shifts were appreciated by visiting inland sailors and it was continued success for Simon Kneller/Dave Lucas from Grafham who won the first race followed by Robert Hogben/Glyn Morgan from Bewl Valley. Third was Bob Alexander/Huw Willetts from Parkstone with Mark & Ben Longstaff from Grafham Water in fourth place.

In the final sixth race the earlier order was re-established with Jeremy Davy/Martin Huett beating Steve Coacher/Phil Evans to the line. Third was Ian Cadwallader/Dave Sweet from Chew Valley with David Tabb/Chewey Sherrett in fourth place.

This last race gave the overall win to Jeremy Davy/Martin Huett by 3 points ahead of Steve Goacher/Phil Evans. Andy McKee /Rich Jones were third and David Tabb/Chewey Sherrett fourth. Full results on HISC event website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s