Jerwoods Clinch Western Australia Title !!

Jerwoods Clinch Flying Fifteen Title

In a widely diverse range of weather conditions, the husband and wife combination of Nick and Janet Jerwood added another title to their CV when they won the Western Australian Flying Fifteen championship on the Swan River over the Easter weekend. Jerwood, who last month won the World Viper 640 championship at the same venue, acted quickly to scotch rumours of a jump to the Viper class, declaring his allegiance to the Flying 15, the people who sail them and the closeness of competition.

The Western Australian Flying Fifteen has defied its critics by remaining numerically one of the strongest fleets in the world, with boats competing in Esperance, Albany, Perth and Geraldton.

(Championship runners-up, John Wilson and Matt Summers)

John Wilson teamed up with Matt Summers to finish second on a count back with David Yu and Chris Nelson, finishing the final day with a curious mixture of results – a first in the penultimate race and a 17th in the last, which became his drop. David Yu and Chris Nelson had a strong showing up to the last day, with a run of seconds and thirds, but would have been disappointed in their last two races, recording 20th and 12th placings.

Still, in this company, any podium position is hard earned. Jerwood is a past world champion, as is Grant Alderson, who finished fourth.

(Carl and Christine Pettersson, one of many husband and wife combinations in the 34-boat fleet.)

One of the ways in which the class keeps itself vibrant is the introduction of new ideas. There are several husband and wife combinations within the group, and in an effort to encourage and recognise the importance of women to the future of the class, awards for the best female skipper and best female crew were introduced.

(Consistency winners, Albany’s Simon and Aileen Lucas.)

In conjunction with the championship was a handicap-based consistency competition, which was won by Simon and Aileen Lucas, with the minor placings going to veterans Ron Packer and Steve Ward, who in turn just pipped third placegetters Tim Walker and Alan Sharpe.

(Third place went to David Yu and Chris Nelson)

A special presentation was made to the regatta’s principal organiser, John Hassen, to recognise his contribution.

Nick Jerwood was effusive in his praise for the South of Perth Yacht Club, which hosted the championship and the efforts of race officer Les Swinton, who coped remarkably well with conditions ranging from south westerlies gusting well over 25 knots to shifty easterlies on the final morning to ensure that the full program of races was delivered while keeping competitors safe.

For full results, go to:

WA State Champs in Perth !!!

Whilst taking a month out, your Editor has sadly fallen behind on his news!!  But as you read this, I’m on a plane back to HQ…!!

One of the events I’ve fallen behind on was the WA Championships in fabulous Perth….!  Bother – as they had been emailing the FF Blog with daily news.   I’ll give you a catch-upon that in the coming days.  In the mean time, here is the newspaper report

Click here for a PDF download

SOPYC Newspaper clipping

Western Australia State Championships…..!!

If you followed our reports from the 50th Australian Championships in Perth in the New Year, you may be interested to know they have just sailed the 50th WA State Championship.

Setting aside ‘Ashes’ gags for the minute…. Top Aussie boat in the January nationals was ‘El Toro’ sailed by Adele Jackson with Dean McAullay. This boat is maybe more familiar to you  with Grant Alderson and Dean McAullay aboard – previous FF World Champions. Well, guess what…. Grant and Dean cleaned up at the State Nationals too….

Grant said, “That was the closest regatta win ever!! Beat our closest rival by 1 meter over the line in the last heat and then won on a countback in the Flying 15 WA State Champs. Awesome crewing Dean McAullay!”

I just love inspired headlines on race reports and if you click here for the final race report, you’ll see what The Sun newspaper would have had trouble bettering!

Also click here to see the official event website.

© Glenda Leslie – Adele Jackson and Dean McAullay on a quiet spinnaker reach in Perth

The WA 50th Anniversary FF Regatta…. 3 More weeks for Applications !!….

The Gemmill Homes 50th Anniversary Australian Championships for the Flying Fifteen class to be held at the Club from 7 January to 13 January 2012 looks like being a reunion for former world champions with Dean McAullay (crew) (2009), Mike Hart (2007), Steve Goacher (1995,1997 and 1999) Alan Bax (1990), Graham Lillingston (1982) and John Cassidy (1979) all planning to compete. Messrs Goacher, Bax and Hart are coming out from England for the event as are several other top sailors from the United Kingdom.
Overall we are expecting somewhere between 60 and 80 yachts to be competing including the yachts that came first and second at this year’s World Championship in England that have now been purchased by Australians. The current World Champion boat is being delivered to Perth for Queensland State Champions Ashley Smith and Adam Kingston who will compete and then tow their new yacht to Queensland. Peter Emby from host club, South of Perth Yacht Club bought the boat that came second at the Worlds when sailed by Olympic Gold Medalist, Mike McIntyre.
2005 World Champion Nick Jerwood is putting a new Fifteen together and will also be sailing from South of Perth. Nick will miss the Australian Championship as he will be in New Zealand with his daughter Mia who will be competing in the World Optimist Championship. Hopefully the yacht will nevertheless be competing, perhaps sailed by another Jerwood? Other brand new boats also joining the fleet at South of Perth this season include “Story Teller” which is being skippered by Chris Paterson and crewed by Rupert Leslie. Former Classic World Champion John Midolo has upgraded and also purchased a brand new Ovington that will be here in time for the Nationals.
Looks like being a terrific fleet. All at South of Perth Yacht Club look forward to welcoming you in January 2012
Nominations close on 7 December 2011. Please complete your nomination on line at the event specific web site at
John Hassen