Southern Travellers Final Review 2014….!!

2014 Southern Travellers Series – Final Review

!! Congratulations !!


Neil Bartholomey and Emma Brown who won

the Classic Fleet Trophy.


Mike Firth and Phil Tinsley who won

the Silver Fleet Trophy.

Over the four events of the series held at Llangorse, Broxbourne, South Cerney, and Middle Nene there were a total of 40 teams competing from 9 Clubs with 7 qualifiers for the overall results.

The Classic Fleet with 21 entries and 5 qualifiers had the strongest support with 2700 Neil Bartholomey and Emma Brown (Middle Nene) having a battle at the top with 2606 Bob Tait and Mick Musgrove (Broxbourne) which was decided on the last race at the final event, where 3031 Brian Turner and Jackie Burns (Broxbourne) also secured 3rd. All of the top boats sailed in at least 3 of the 4 events, giving themselves the advantage of a discard in the final results.

The Silver Fleet attracted 11 entries (2 up on last year) with 2 qualifiers, 3341 Mike Firth and Phil Tinsley (Datchet) bettering last year’s winners 3374 Tony Oatley and Tim Greaves (South Cerney).

The Open Fleet had 8 entries from 4 Clubs but none of the teams qualified for the overall results.

Click here to see the overall results

Perhaps in contrast to reports from some of the other F15 events general rule observance and courtesy on the water was never an issue, which made for very satisfying and fair sailing.

Everyone who sailed in the Series was full of praise for the organisation, enthusiasm and hospitality shown by the Host Clubs – the evening Dinner and social afterwards at Middle Nene was once again the bench mark for future years!

Plans are already being made for next year – any suggestions or recommendations on how to improve the series and get even more travellers “hooked on” to take part in STS 2015 are always welcome.

Finally, many thanks to all those who took part this year, both on the water either in the Race Management Teams or as Competitors and on shore as essential support for the whole STS Series, without you we wouldn’t have a Southern Traveller Series!

Richard Taylor 2626

Southern Results Flash….!!

Winner of the Flying 15 Southern Championship and the Bulwark Trophy are Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett of Draycote Water SC . . . Simon Kneller and Dave Lucas won race 5 with Davy and Huett in 12th which they were able to discard after they won the final race to clinch overall victory – Steve Goacher and Phil Evans finished second overall and Andy McKee and Rich Jones third . . .

Race wins on Day 2 for Steve Goacher and Phil Evans, and for Andy McKee and Rich Jones, have put the pressure on the overall leaders, Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett of Draycote Water SC . . .

Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett won the first two races of the Flying 15 Southern Championship being held at Hayling Island SC . . . The pair from Draycote Water SC set a tough pace for the weekend, finishing the first day three points clear of Steve Goacher and Phil Evans, with Ian Cadwaller and Dave Sweet taking third, a further seven points back . .

Click here for full results


Hong Kong Nationals …..!!

Vials and Turner 2Congratulations to Graham Vials and Chris Turner on Foof who, with a 1st and a 2nd for the day, have topped the provisional results for the Flying Fifteen Hong Kong Nationals with 9 points after discard, pushing Nick and Janet Jerwood, who were black-flagged in race 5, into second place on 14. Grant Alderson and Dean McAullay finish third with 19 and Greg Wills and Andrew Jameson in fourth on 21. The Nationals prizegiving takes place tonight, then tomorrow is a scheduled lay day before the scheduled start of the Worlds on Saturday

Follow races 5 and 6 on Tacktracker (not actually uploaded yet at 1015gmt Thursdayt!!)

tacktracker logo

For the results table click here

The Datchet Open…..

Twelve Flying Fifteen teams, including three visitors, rolled up on Sunday 16th October to be greeted by a pea soup of a fog, copious coffee, and New Zealand thrashing the Aussies on TV.  No contest really…. The Club Weather Station gave the average wind as 0.0knots…





The Saturday had kicked off under blue skies and 7 knots of gently failing breeze – the PRO setting out to get three races in.  The fleet was led out of the gate by Mike Firth and James Waterhouse making their second great start of the year! Tacking around the first buoy they led off to the wrong mark, the Fleet dutifully following.  John Hanson and Helen Selden, tail end Charlies at that point, spotted the error and pushed out to windward and into the lead.  The fleet, of course, rolled over Firth and Waterhouse pushing them to the back. Race one was brilliantly won by Chris and Tom Waples, ahead of Hamish MacKay and Andrew Lawson, with Hanson and Selden coming in third. Race two was again taken by The Waples, followed by Whittaker and Fairley of the home Club, and Hanson and Selden again squeezing on to the podium.

The breeze then died and the PRO called it a day.  Sunday was washout what with the fog and no breeze. Overall results were dominated by The Waples, followed by Hanson/Selden, Whittaker/Fairley both of the home Club.

Overall Results:-


1st  3716  Waples/Waples  2pts

2nd 3539 Hanson/Selden   6 pts

3rd  3732 Whittaker/Fairley 7pts

4th  3788  MacKay/Lawson  8 pts

5th  3378  Clark/Boyd-Philips  11pts

You can see more photos and commentary on the Datchet Fleet Website here