Datchet Commodore Discovers Flying Ten in Own Backyard….!!

Flying 10 photo 1But 5 mins from my Boathouse here in Pangbourne, I have discovered this national but hidden treasure: The Racing and Riverboat Museum

http://rrbm.org/

Not the most informative website ever – but in a wonderful 17c barn there are some gems – N12 AND Enterprise number 1’s but best of all a Flying 10!
A little beauty she is too ….

Phil Tinsley, Datchet Water SC

And for the Bewl Valley members, have you seen the transom??  Does anyone from Bewl have any background on this??  Ed.

flying 10 photo 2

3 thoughts on “Datchet Commodore Discovers Flying Ten in Own Backyard….!!

  1. I have seen this boat on the water at Bewl a few time during the mid 80’s, from memory it was on a Saturday. To my knowledge it never raced or has been seen since but I may be wrong. When I first saw her on the slip way, I did think I was seeing things as I wasn’t aware of the design, much the same feeling as I had on Port Phillip bay in 2010 when I saw the oversized version, a Flying 25!

Leave a Reply

